Silly sun and sky.

Yesterday I had the chance to be at a purportedly perfect sunset spot in Singapore – Changi Boardwalk. There’s a part of it called Sunset Walk to boot.

I stood somewhere closer to Kelong Walk, though. But whether I was at the “perfect spot” or not wouldn’t matter at all when I observed the sky – I was there for the sunset but the sun simply wouldn’t work together with the clouds to give a satisfying scene.

The reality of the situation: dreary sky

The reality of the situation: dreary sky

Those sticks/poles in the water, by the way, is what this part of the Changi Boardwalk owes its name to: Kelong. They’re pretty much disused, maybe even built just as a useless decoration, but kelongs (are supposed to) serve the purpose of supporting fishermen’s dwellings. There are very few real and still-in-use kelongs left in Singapore, the only ones I have seen for myself are around Pulau Ubin. They look like a house sitting on stilts in the sea.

Since there were no interesting colours or clouds, I shifted out of the direct angle of the setting sun and focused on the kelong. In post-process I thought to bring out what little texture there were in the skies by switching the image to black-and-white. I like it a lot, except that I might’ve pushed a slider or two too far to either extreme that a blur forms around the ought-to-be-sharp poles.

Too much contrast/clarity made the weird.. stuff around the poles

Too much contrast/clarity made the weird.. stuff around the poles

So I tried something I haven’t in a long while: Cross-process effect. Admittedly my favourite post-process effect, whether on a mobile app, on Pixlr or on Lightroom. Sometimes it makes nice photos look even nicer, and at other times it salvages horrible photos from being condemned into the Recycle Bin (in this case, probably the latter). I haven’t been using this effect on the photos that come from Rosa for many months, because it goes against my reason for taking landscape shots, to capture the true colours of the scenery. Yet it turned out to be successful in saving this shot from heading straight for Mr. Bin.

So cross-process it is!

So cross-process it is!

I thought of using the HDR function on my camera many times before, but for some reason I was always in a rush to capture something and when I tried to turn on the function, a notice would pop up and the function wouldn’t activate, and I’d just quickly move on to other functions. This time I had the leisure of time, so I read that pop-up and realised HDR wouldn’t activate because I shot in RAW format, and HDR can only take effect when shooting in Jpeg only. I followed the instruction, switched from “RAW+Jpeg” to “Jpeg (Fine)” , and here goes…

First time using Rosa's HDR function

First time using Rosa’s HDR function

Did a bit of colour punching in post-process to make the shot look appealing, otherwise it would’ve been worse than the dreary-looking unedited first shot. I’m not sure if Sony NEX-C3’s HDR function actually helped with anything at all, ‘cos I can’t see any real difference from my regular non-HDR shots. Oh well.

Hope you enjoyed this post! If you have any comments (or know how I could bring out the difference that HDR is supposed to make), do leave them below or at the respective images! Thanks for stopping by :)

2 responses to “Silly sun and sky.

  1. I haven’t tried HDR in camera yet, even though I’ve had this new one for a few months. I’ve never liked cross-process, but yours looks good. Like that last shot especially.

  2. Pingback: A long awaited date with Rosa | Spirit of a Spright·

Your thoughts?

