A sunrise that coincided with moonrise

Woke up early this morning to accompany my sister to have breakfast before dawn, so I thought, might as well have a quick shower and set off to catch the sunrise.

I chose to be at the water’s edge at the Singapore Flyer and F1 pit building. I decided against going to my other option site (Gardens by the Bay) at the last minute (as the taxi drove out of the expressway) due to the amount of walking required from the nearest road. Every second counts when chasing the sunrise; the colours and clouds come and go so quickly, until you’re left with a normal, boring blue sky.

Hasty first shot without first checking my camera settings

Hasty first shot without first checking my camera settings

I have to admit I did a bit of colour tweaking in post-process on this to accentuate the purples a little, and I rotated and cropped, a slight vignette. Fact is, it is out of focus and I was busy swatting those swarms of bugs that just love sticking around water edges. But look! Little Mr Moon was rising and caught in this shot too! (Only realised this when I opened the image on my desktop when I got home hours later)

Took too long to adjust settings, and the magical colours disappeared

Took too long to adjust settings, and the magical colours disappeared

Unedited photo. I was trying to force a long shutter speed on this one while balancing the exposure and aperture.

Got out of Manual mode and used the "Pop" art filter to see if it added any "pop" to the image

Got out of Manual mode and used the “Pop” art filter to see if it added any “pop” to the image

The dilemma about using the art filters on my Rosa is that I have no control over the shutter speed and aperture. This one isn’t too bad, though, I think – save that railing on the lower left. Also unedited.

One of my last few shots before packing up

One of my last few shots before packing up

Switched back to Manual mode. It started becoming too bright and the allure of a sunrise diminished all too soon. I tried quite a few shots, even changed lens to have a closer shot, but this was the only decent one. Correction-rotated and sharpened slightly in post-process.

Maybe I’m just not good yet, or I lack the right equipments (I’m waiting to get an ND filter), or I’m not at the right place, not at the right time. I took more than 4 photos, of course, but only these were decent enough to be uploaded.

Anyway, got a sunset shoot with the Photography Khakis this coming Sunday at Changi Boardwalk. Never been there but I know it’s a fantastic location, so I’m very excited!

4 responses to “A sunrise that coincided with moonrise

    • Thank you! It entirely depends on what kind of photos you want to take. I dropped by your blog and saw that you don’t really have any particular type of photography that you lean towards strongly, so a good photo simply depends on your eye to discern the right place and moment. If you’re talking landscape and/or sunrise/sunset, most of our reservoirs do a good job, and some of our shorelines too, like Changi Boardwalk and Punggol End. In the heartlands, the Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park is picturesque. There are many others; you should be able to find an extensive (but non-exhaustive) list on ClubSnap’s forum :)

Your thoughts?

